The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

Christmas is like the Super Bowl for us cookie bakers. It’s awesome- everywhere we go people need/want cookies! My kids and I go around singing this annoying song from “Frog and Toad” that we listened to as a book on tape once. It cracked us up because the whole song is “cookies, cookies, cookies, cookies…” You get the idea. But sung in a “Frog and Toad” type of voice it’s hilarious. I digress…

It’s the Super Bowl of cookies! Hooray!

My daughter’s teacher emailed last week asking if anyone would be willing to send in two dozen gingerbread cookies to wrap up their reading lesson which she cleverly centered around gingerbread. I quickly replied yes, as I was so impressed with her creative two weeks of reading. They read not only the classic gingerbread story, but new ones such as “Gingerbread Girl”, “Gingerbread Girl Goes Animal Crackers”, “Gingerbread Friends”, and “Gingerbread Pirates”. My daughter loved it and came home telling us all the stories.

I had very high hopes of making characters to resemble the books, but found myself buying the Krusteaz mix the night before she needed them (gasp!), and letting the kids decorate them. I think the cookies meant more to my daughter because she was so excited to do this. She even let her brother and little sister help. Gooey’s turned out looking like Gingerbread Monsters, but Em proudly took them to her class nonetheless. She whispered to me, “It’s okay, Mommy. I’ll just tell them Goo made them. They won’t mind.” I think that just made my whole Christmas season. It’s moments like these that make me constantly grateful- and teary.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year- not only because it’s cookies everywhere we go- but because the kids are picking up the icing bags and pitching in along with me! Even if it means late nights and cookies that resemble monsters. We are feeling the love over here.

The Best Cookies Ever 028

The Best Cookies Ever 029

The Best Cookies Ever 030

The Best Cookies Ever 031

The Best Cookies Ever 032

The Best Cookies Ever 033

Leave a Reply

